Cooreman won’t seek reelection

Pam Cooreman

Council filing period opens

The filing period for three positions on the Tracy City Council opened Tuesday, July 31.  Candidates can file for office through Tuesday, August 14.

Two four-year terms and one two-year term will be decided in the Nov. 6 general election. One of the four-year terms is for mayor.

Mayor Pam Cooreman, who was elected to a four-year council term in the fall of 2014, does not plan to file for re-election.  She said Monday that she and her husband, Kendall, have purchased a house on Lake Shetek, and plan to make that their permanent residence.  As a non-city resident, Cooreman would be ineligible to continue serving on the council.

Cooreman was appointed mayor in January, after Steve Ferrazzano resigned as mayor to accept an appointment as a district court judge.

Kou Thao and Jeri Schons are the other two council incumbents who have terms ending this year.  Both were appointed to fill council vacancies earlier this year.

Thao, who was appointed in January to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of Bill Chukuske, told the Headlight-Herald Monday that he had not yet decided whether to file for election to the council.  Schons, who was appointed to the council February after Ferrazzano left the council, said that she definitely would file for election to the council.

The remaining two people on the council—Dave Tiegs and Tony Peterson—have terms that expire at the end of 2020.

To file for council, people must file an “affidavit of candidacy” at Tracy City Hall and pay a $2 filing fee.  To be eligible, candidates must be at least 21 years old and a Tracy resident for more than 30 days before the general election.

• Three District No. 2904 School Board seats are up for election this year.

Those seats are currently held by board members Sheila Siebenhaler-Holland and Jody Bauer and school board Chairman Rod Benson.

All three were elected in 2014.

The filing period began Tuesday, July 31, and runs through Tuesday, Aug. 14.

The term for the other four seats ends Dec. 31, 2020.