Primary election right around the corner

This year’s primary election is Tuesday.

In the battle to replace Democratic Gov. Mark Dayton, there is a three-person race among Republicans between former governor Tim Pawlenty, Jeff Johnson and Matthew Kruse. For the DFL, candidates include Erin Murphy, Lori Swanson, Tim Walz, Tim Holden and Olé Savior.

The attorney general race also has three GOP candidates: Doug Wardlow, Robert Lessard and Sharon Anderson. DFLers can choose from Mike Rothman, Debra Hilstrom, Matt Pelikan, Tom Foley and Keith Ellison.

In District 22A, there is a primary on the DFL side between Maxwell Kaufman and Brian Abrahamson. The winner will go up against Joe Schomacker of Luverne in the Nov. 4 General Election.

At the federal level, the DFL race for U.S. senator includes Steve Carlson, Stephen A. Emery, Amy Klobuchar, David Robert Groves and Leonard J. Richards. The primary for Republicans will be between Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, Rae Hart Anderson, Jim Newberger and Merrill Anderson.

A special election will be held for the state’s other U.S. Sen. seat. On the Republican side, it’s between Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey, Bob Anderson and Karin Housely. The other U.S. senate race has six candidates: Chrisopher Lovell Seymore Sr. Gregg A. Iverson, Tina Smith, Ricahrd W. Painter, Ali Chehem Ali and Walnut Grove native Nick Leonard.

For U.S. Representative, there is a primary on the Republican side between Dave Hughes and Matt Prosch. DFL veteran Collin Peterson is running unopposed.