Tracy backs Johnson, bucks Walz victory

GET OUT THE VOTE — Election volunteers Vern Carlson (left), Kathy Schmidt and Reuben Anderson (not pictured) held down the fort at the Lake Sarah Township town hall in northern Murray County on Election Day. Rodney Krueger was also on hand to hand out “I Voted” stickers.

Walz wins over Republican

Democrat and former District 1 U.S. Congressman Tim Walz defeated Jeff Johnson, former Hennepin County commissioner, to become Minnesota’s next governor.

As of presstime Tuesday night, Walz had secured nearly 55% of the vote.

Walz will succeed Democrat Mark Dayton in the state’s highest office. His Lieutenant Gov. is Penny Flanagan.

Tracy and Lyon County voters narrowly favored the Republican Johnson.

Voter turnout in Lyon County was above 70%.